• Rickt: I am the biggest Cal Jr fan around but one of my good friends played minor l...

Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.

If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.

Marlon Anderson leaps in the air in disbelief after being called out on interference after crashing into Tahadhito Iguchi (left) while attempting to break up a game-ending double play.This was the difference-maker in last night’s game between the Philadelphia Phillies and the New York Mets. Having lost the first two games of the four-game set in Philly, the Mets were looking to rebound and increase their lead in the NL East back to five games. But they found themselves down again, this time in the ninth inning of a 3-2 ball game with runners on first and third and one out. RFer Shawn Green was at the plate and Brett Myers was attempting to get out of the jam and close out the game. Green makes contact on a 2-2 pitch but it’s a weak grounder to short. Jimmy Rollins fields it, underhands the ball to second baseman Tadahito Iguchi. Marlon Anderson (who appears to have an amazing vertical according to the photo), the runner at first, came barrelling down the baseline but slid into second too late to prevent the initial out. But the cardinal sin came in the form of a push – as he followed through on his slide, Anderson clearly shoved Iguchi who was already to Marlon’s left, turning to throw the ball to first. The second base umpire calls runner’s intereference, and the double play becomes automatic. Endy Chavez, who crossed home plate on the play, did not count as the tying run. Game over.

Now I could easily go off on a tangent about how the umpires chose THIS moment to begin enforcing this rule. Countless times have I watched on television and in person the runner getting away with blatantly going for the legs of the middle infielder, without any attempt to even touch the bag. In this instance, Anderson did touch second with his right leg. But he added a push, which is apparently no-no (who knew?). And I could certainly debate whether or not the “flying cross-body block” that the Phillies’ Carlos Ruiz planted on Padres’ second baseman Marcus Giles a few nights earlier made the interference call more likely than it would have prior to that incident that ended up clearing both benches.

The fact remains, the rules are the rules. Having played second base for most of my life, I can assure you that it is a bit terrifying trying to turn the double play on a ground ball to short. You can hear the runner from first running full-steam down the line, but you can’t see him because you have your eyes on the throw coming your way from the shortstop side. The last thing you want is the runner adding in a shove or a “flying cross-body block”. In last night’s case, the umpire clearly and correctly surmised that there was an “intentional hindrance” on the part of Marlon Anderson. So the call really shouldn’t be argued, no matter how frustrating it is for me to admit.

(Note: I know this is splitting hairs, but bear with me for a moment. After the game, umpire creew chief Joe West spoke on behalf of C.B. Bucknor, who was actually the one who made the call. He said, “Marlon Anderson went after the second baseman to break up the double play and did not, and could not reach the base, which is what he argued… He went out of his way to interfere with the play that created the interference. CB made a great call, made a gutsy call and he didn’t back down from the call at all.” Technically, West is wrong. Anderson did touch the bag. But the official rules do state that the correct call was made. It was just for the wrong reasons. You may now proceed.)

What we will never know is if Green would have beaten the throw to first had Iguchi been able to get it to Ryan Howard cleanly. The groundball to Rollins was not hit very well, and the momentum of Iguchi’s body was going to third base, which with his arm may have made for a difficult throw. I’ve seen the replay quite a few times and I still don’t know.

So what say you, Umpbump readers? Was it interference? Would Green have been safe at first? Let me know so I can just put this whole episode to a rest and move on with my life.

3 Responses to “Rule 7.08(b): It’s a bitch.”

  1. Sorry Paul, I think the ump clearly made the right call regarding interference. I don’t think West/Bucknor was necessarily off in his interpretation of 7.08b either.

    While Anderson did make contact with the bag initially, and was in contact with it when he hit Iguchi, his slide took him 3-5 feet beyond the bag. This would mean he no longer has legal contact with the bag, while hindering the fielder. Combine that with the obvious tackle (his head/arms contacted above the waist), and interference is the right call.

    Obviously, 7.08b is stretched nearly every game, as people slide into center field, attempting to graze their pinky on 2b while going after the fielder, but this is above and beyond, particularly at the end of the play, when Anderson was completely out of reach of 2b.

    Would Green have been safe? Maybe. Ask a phill’s fan how good Iguchi’s arm is. Clearly though, the point is moot.

    That doesn’t mean it won’t cause you to lay awake at night, endlessly replaying the video in your mind. Coulda/woulda/shoulda been. The bane of every sports fan. ;)

  2. JojoFireball says:

    What I think is at hand here is which SIDE of the base he slid into. The slides and “missed” calls you mentioned are usually slides trying to impede the fielder who is on the other side of the bag. The second basemen or even shortstop who takes a throw on a double play will most of the time move to the outfield side of the bag and when the sliding runner rolls him up no one really complains because that’s a normal play. What happened with Iguchi is that Anderson slid to the inside because Rollins’ flip had brought him to the inside. On replay it looks like a dirty play because we rarely see that hard of a slide on the inside, when in all actuality we see it all time just on the other side of the bag.

  3. Sarah Green says:

    Rich, just for clarification, I think you are actually agreeing with what Paul wrote. So no apology necessary. :)

    It is a rarely-enforced rule. As Red Sox fans found out when A-Rod threw an elbow at Dustin Pedroia earlier this season, after springing up from his slide into second. I’d like to see this one more carefully enforced, at least as long as it’s clear that the contact with the infielder as not part of the runner’s legit attempts to tag the base.

Leave a Reply

    Recent Comments

    • Rickt: I am the biggest Cal Jr fan around but one of my good friends played minor league baseball in the Orioles...
    • HADAJUN: I wish for play in Japan. The death is regrettable.
    • David the okajima: was wondering if I related too this guy?
    • HaroldHecuba: Mike Mussina is EASTERN EUROPEAN, not Italian.
    • handsomerandyblackladdiebrad1953: Plus,Jackson’s Polo Grounds-heightened batting stats,when park-adjusted,make...

Marketplace

    Subscribe via email

    Enter your email address:

    Archives

What's Popular

Featured posts

220px-Bbwaa_logo_web

December 5, 2011

Will anybody get elected to the Hall of Fame this year?

Last week, we asked you to vote for who you would like to see enshrined in baseball’s Hall of Fame. The verdict? If it were up to UmpBump readers, nobody would make it in. The leading vote getter (so far) is Jeff Bagwell, who has 60% support. Of course, in the real voting, players need […]

January 5, 2011

Annual UmpBump Hall of Fame Balloting: 2011 Edition

In what has become an annual tradition, we here at UmpBump cast our ballots for the Hall of Fame on the eve of the announcements of the voting for the real Hall of Fame. Voters can vote for anyone ever who has been retired from baseball for at least five years and is not already […]

According to the internet, "The Little Napoleon" John McGraw was the greatest manager of all time.

October 19, 2010

Crowdsourcing the Greats: The Top 10 Managers of All Time

Now that we’ve looked at every position on the diamond, as well as relief pitchers, we are nearing the end of our “Crowdsourcing the Greats” series. But before we finish, let’s turn one more time to the internet hoi polloi for answers on who the greatest baseball manager of all time was. As usual, we […]