This year UmpBump continues its annual tradition of honoring the greats by casting our vote for who we think deserves to be enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame. As always, we vote not just on players currently eligible for Hall of Fame voting under baseball’s arcane eligibility rules, but for any and all players retired at least five years and not currently in the Hall of Fame.

BaseballHallOfFameIn 2008, we inducted Goose Gossage into the UmpBump version of the Hall of Fame, and last year, we inducted Rickey Henderson and Tim Raines. Although Raines is not yet in the real Hall, since he’s already in our Hall we didn’t include him in the voting this year, although judging from the number of UmpBump voters who put him on their ballot anyway as a sign of solidarity, we gladly would have voted him in again this year.

Voters this year included Umpbumpers Sarah, Alejandro, Zvee, Paul, Coley, and Nick, and distinguished guest voters Melissa, a longtime UmpBump reader, and Tyler Hissey, editor of the blog “Around the Majors.”

Here are this year’s results, in order of total number of votes received:

ROYALS ORIOLESRoberto Alomar – 7
Barry Larkin – 6
Bert Blyleven – 5
Ron Santo – 5
Shoeless Joe Jackson – 4
Pete Rose – 4
Alan Trammell – 4
Andre Dawson – 3
Edgar Martinez – 3
Mark McGwire – 3
Buck O’Neill – 3
Fred McGriff – 2
Jack Morris – 2
Dick Allen – 1
1994fleerlarkinHarold Baines – 1
Albert Belle – 1
Dwight Evans – 1
Gil Hodges – 1
Minnie Miñoso – 1
Dale Murphy – 1
Ted Simmons – 1
Lou Whitaker – 1
Maury Wills – 1

With 8 voters, this years UmpBump Hall of Fame enshrinees are Roberto Alomar with 87.5% of the vote, and Barry Larkin, just edging in with exactly 75% of the vote.

Edgar Martinez, who many consider a sure bet for eventual enshrinement, only got 3 votes from on his first year of eligibility, perhaps a sign of the mild distaste for the DH that many of us seem to share.

Bert Blyleven and Ron Santo just missed again, but held steady at the 5 votes they received last year. Andre Dawson, however, plummeted from 5 votes last year to 3 votes this year, which may not bode well for his future chances at gaining entry to the UmpBump Hall.

Meanwhile, Joe Jackson, Pete Rose, Alan Trammell, Mark McGwire, and Buck O’Neill all gained ground from last year.

See you next year!

UmpBump Hall of Fame Inductees by Year

2010 – Roberto Alomar, Barry Larkin
2009 – Rickey Henderson, Tim Raines
2008 – Goose Gossage

6 Responses to “Annual UmpBump Hall of Fame Balloting: 2010 Edition”

  1. I really struggled with Larkin, but in the end he got my vote.

  2. I was hesitant to vote for Larkin as well but decided he is deserving. I feel obligated to continue to be an advocate for Ron Santo. I saw a real interesting statistical argument for his induction at Cybermetrics. He presents evidence that Santo may have actually been the best player in the NL from 1964-68. His best 5 year period was as great as many Hall of Famers.

    He also has a nice comparison between Santo and Brooks Robinson.

  3. I can’t help but think that the “first ballot” is a crock of shit, you either belong or you don’t. I think someone should take the right to change their minds away from the voters. One vote that’s it, yes or no. The process of turnover would give a chance to players on the cusp, but generally as I said before you either belong or you don’t.

  4. Not one single vote for Don Mattingly? Outrageous.

  5. Baseballgut says:

    I agree with Cooley on Larkin.

Leave a Reply

    Recent Comments

    • planet hobbywood: This is very interesting.
    • Bren: He is a awesome player and a good man.. sweet.. polite.. friendly.. down to earth.. he never acted as though he...
    • HADAJUN( Japanese): Okajima a Japanese hero?
    • Rickt: I am the biggest Cal Jr fan around but one of my good friends played minor league baseball in the Orioles...
    • HADAJUN: I wish for play in Japan. The death is regrettable.


    Subscribe via email

    Enter your email address:


Featured posts

December 5, 2011

Will anybody get elected to the Hall of Fame this year?

Last week, we asked you to vote for who you would like to see enshrined in baseball’s Hall of Fame. The verdict? If it were up to UmpBump readers, nobody would make it in. The leading vote getter (so far) is Jeff Bagwell, who has 60% support. Of course, in the real voting, players need […]

January 5, 2011

Annual UmpBump Hall of Fame Balloting: 2011 Edition

In what has become an annual tradition, we here at UmpBump cast our ballots for the Hall of Fame on the eve of the announcements of the voting for the real Hall of Fame. Voters can vote for anyone ever who has been retired from baseball for at least five years and is not already […]

October 19, 2010

Crowdsourcing the Greats: The Top 10 Managers of All Time

Now that we’ve looked at every position on the diamond, as well as relief pitchers, we are nearing the end of our “Crowdsourcing the Greats” series. But before we finish, let’s turn one more time to the internet hoi polloi for answers on who the greatest baseball manager of all time was. As usual, we […]